Home > Freelance Writer's News > Bad Month Writing Freelance

Bad Month Writing Freelance

I had one of those months that almost makes you wish that you still had a day job instead.

Almost.

It all started with some business infrastructure problems in the form of an email server nightmare. I’ve always just used whoever was hosting my websites as my email provider and never thought any more about it than that. Once I had my email accounts setup in Thunderbird or another desktop email client like Zimbra, I made the terrible assumption that everything that hit my server was dutifully being passed along via IMAP or POP3.

I never bothered to re-check my POP3 settings for Gmail or my IMAP settings for other email accounts so long as email kept showing up in my email client. Unfortunately, just because some email was showing up, didn’t mean that all email was showing up. I probably lost out on some clients and had to do major damage control with some others.

Here are some of my recent published freelance writing articles at BrightHub.

Top 10 Windows 7 ScreenSavers

Windows 7 Media Center Review

Funny Thanksgiving Photos: Ideas & Tips

Sample Funeral Program Layout

Poems for Funeral Programs

Learn About Networking Windows 7 and XP

Solving Gmail Connection Problems

Tips for Creating a Funeral Program

Anyway, the moral of the story is to never take anything in your freelance writing business for granted. Check, double-check, and re-check.

Oh, and for your critical systems like email, you might want to consider paying a little extra for a specialized email provider with fully-skilled tech support waiting to not only help you if you notice something go wrong, but who can also proactively alert you if something might be going wrong.

Lesson learned.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

